Established by the Riemann International School of Mathematics of the Università dell’Insubria, the prize is dedicated to mathematicians who have attained results of great impact in the international scientific community. The announcement was made this morning at the Università dell’Insubria, in the presence of the President of the Italian Republic, Sergio Mattarella.

PISA, 15 November 2022. Professor Luigi Ambrosio, Director of the Scuola Normale Superiore, is the winner of the second edition of the Riemann Prize, an international prize for mathematics established in 2019 by the RISM (Riemann International School of Mathematics) under the aegis of all the universities of Lombardy, headed by the Università degli Studi dell’Insubria, and with the support of the Università degli Studi di Milano, Milano-Bicocca University, the Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere, the Lombardy Region and the Municipality of Varese.

The announcement came today during the inauguration of the academic year of the  Università dell’Insubria, in Varese,  in the presence of the Italian Head of State, Sergio Mattarella. The Riemann International School of Mathematics, housed at Villa Toeplitz, was founded in 2009 with the aim of establishing three international schools for PhD students and Postdocs in Pure and Applied Mathematics. It is named after Bernhard Riemann, a German mathematician who opened up new frontiers of mathematical research in the nineteenth century, raising issues that continue to present challenges to contemporary international research. The last part of his life was spent in the Insubria region.

The  Riemann prize, consisting of a gold medal and a sculpture by the artist Marcello Morandini, is awarded to mathematicians aged between 40 and 65 who have attained results of great impact in the international scientific community. The awarding commission of the Riemann Prize 2022 consisted of Enrico Bombieri (Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton), Daniele Cassani (Università dell’Insubria), Alice Chang (Princeton University), and Ron Donagi (University of Pennsylvania). 

The first edition of the Prize went to Professor Terence Tao, of the UCLA prodigy of international mathematics, and winner of the Fields Medal in 2006.

Winner of numerous national and international mathematical awards, including the Balzan Prize of 2019 for the Mathematical Sciences and the Fermat Prize of  2003, Professor Ambrosio will receive the Riemann Prize next summer at the culmination of a week of events in Milan, Varese and Como, organised in his honour, the Riemann Prize week. The Riemann Prize goes to Ambrosio “for his exceptional work in the geometric measure theory, calculus of variations and applied partial differential equations. For his talent and for his education of an entire generation of mathematicians with posts in prestigious international institutions. For his work, which has guaranteed a place as world leader for the Italian school of geometric analysis”.